Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


2019-20 Student Handbook

Home > breadcrumbs: DCHS > breadcrumbs: 2019-20 Student Handbook >


Ajax Loading Image



The Kansas State Law requires the following immunizations prior to school entrance:

·       Diphtheria, Pertussis, Tetanus (DTaP): 5 doses required.  Four doses acceptable if dose 4 given on or after the 4thbirthday.  A single dose of Tdap required at grades 7-12th  if no previous history of Tdap vaccination regardless if interval since the last Td vaccine.

·       Poliomyelitis (IPV/OPV): 4 doses required.   Three doses acceptable with one dose required after age 4 regardless of the number of previous doses, with a 6-month minimum interval from the previous dose.

·       Measles, Mumps, Rubella (MMR): 2 doses required

·       Hepatitis B:  3 doses required through grade 12th

·       Varicella (chickenpox): 2 doses required for grades K-12th, unless history of disease documented by a licensed physician or county health nurse                                         

The Decatur County Health Department at 902 West Columbia can give these by appointment by calling 785-475-8118.


In accordance with Senate Bill 575 (KSA 72-5211), immunization law also requires:

·       Medical exemptions are signed annually.

·       On or before May 15, the school shall notify the parents or guardians of the following school year’s immunization requirements.  Therefore, the 90-day notification period will be effective over the summer break and children will present current immunization histories before entering school in the fall.

·       If a student transfers, records must transfer to the school which the child transfers.

·       Schools shall utilize the reporting form adopted by the secretary for documenting immunizations (Kansas Certificate of Immunization).


Back To Top